I don’t want to be all Judgey McJudgeyface…

…like I was in the last post, but…

What is it with people being horribly filthy in public bathrooms?

Recently I was with my boy in the bathroom stall, waiting for him to finish (he’s young and isn’t ready to be alone in there) when we noticed that of the people entering and leaving the bathroom, not one went to wash their hands. I could see their feet under the stall, and when they left, seconds later the door opens. No one washed.

Cricket, my son (if you think that’s really his name, I have a cookie made out of gold that I’ll sell you for $100) found this HILARIOUS. He was cracking up all the while. I had two thoughts: Hurry up so we can go eat lunch, and geez, who ARE these people?

soapOn a side note, it’s slightly amusing in an annoying way that Cricket tends to “forget” to wash his hands after, so his reaction didn’t completely make sense.

In any case, I have been extra careful not to touch anything in the public bathrooms that I don’t have to. I should be on the lookout for developing OCD.

There is a point to this post other than expressing disdain: I have set a mini-goal to wisely be more careful when dealing with other people’s germs. I tend to catch everyone’s cold or whatever illness is floating around, and I think I could reduce this by washing my hands after I’ve touched doorknobs or handles or random action figures lying around. It’s a tiny goal, really, miniscule in the scheme of everything else I’m striving to do. Still, I don’t want those germs.

There is another point to this post, which I’ll keep brief: Any suggestions for navigating the bathrooms safely without going overboard? I’m not going to carry around plastic gloves…

And don’t think I’m accusing you. It’s not you. It certainly can’t be you. If you’re reading my blogs, you’re automatically the kind of person that washes their hands appropriately. I’m sure.

This entry was posted in gross out factor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

