Minimalist Consumption of The Web

Spiders are expanding the internet so rapidly, you have to wonder if it’ll reach the size of a virtual universe.

And so much of it is not good for MY mind.

The most extreme minimalist move I could make is to give up internet completely, but I’m not going to do that, so I’ll pare down. I will figure out a simple way to control what mental fodder I spoon-feed my mind every day.

Everyone’s different, so I am not going to spend time trying to convince you that what I consider unhealthy for my own mind is unhealthy for yours. I’ll focus on me, this time. You can decide if anything goes, or if you truly want to take control of what you’re mentally feeding your brain.

Every website is information. Does it enrich you, or poison you? If you think a website is neither, it’s probably a poison, just because it’s taking your time away from something that WILL enrich you.

We don’t always have full control of what we are looking up online. Sometimes it’s for work, or someone else. Sometimes it’s information we need to know even if the knowing of it does not feel well. Sometimes I wish I was ignorant of certain things.

I have practiced a terrible habit since about 2001: I am a news junkie. I read so much of the news that I usually know more about what’s going on than my peers, and you know how depressing the news can get. It’s terrible food for the mind usually. It makes one feel jaded and sometimes think that there’s no way humanity is ever going to pull up out of this nosedive it seems to be in sometimes.

I’ve fed myself enough of that for quite some time. I am going to try and nurse my brain back to health by using the internet more wisely. That’s why I set up my Spaceport, a launching place for me to use the internet to take my mind to new heights, rather than join a nosedive. I suspect I will regularly revise this, rather than constantly expand it. Already I am thinking of a few changes to make.

So far it has worked most of the time. I have caught myself a few times on CNN, not remembering typing in the URL because I’ve done it so automatically for years. I leave right away. Don’t take CNN’s spoonfuls of sugar, I tell myself, their medicine’s going to make your stomach churn.

And what do you let your mind consume online? What measures, if any, do you take to be wise about how you use the Web? How will you apply your minimalist choices to the Web?

This entry was posted in change is good, Minimalist Wanna-Be, sites for a healthy mind and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

