That site’s got fiber, yo!

I think I read the news too much, and it’s depressing.

What’s better, to stay informed about what’s going on in the world and be horrified by the messed up stuff that keeps happening, or to be clueless about it all and perhaps happily in the dark.

I am leaning toward avoiding the news online, and enriching my brain with healthier sites. Perhaps if I really want to read the news, I should watch The Daily Show. At least Jon Stewart can make an inept government seem Laurel and Hardy funny, in some twisted way.

If I’m to use the internet more wisely and avoid the news, I’ll need to reorganize my mental URL library. CNN online and yahoo visits would have to go. Google’s still relatively safe, since their home page is practically zen. I’d call it being in the dark if it wasn’t so cleanly designed.

What to add? I could start with these:

Zen Habits has been a sometime web destination for me. Leo’s got his mind all squared away. That site’s full of mental nutrition, worth reading any day.

Soul Pancake has got excellent food for thought. It’s a veritable potluck of communication. I must return, again and again. Who would’ve thought Dwight Shrute was that deep?

Happy News, a place to go for news that’ll put a smile on my face. It won’t keep me informed about the chaos in the world, so if the zombie apocalypse does indeed happen, I might not learn about it until too late. But up until that point, I could perhaps convince myself the world is getting more Disney-esque every day. Minus the villains.

I am open to ideas. I think I’ll add the ones I listed here into a menu of links for my own use, so I can come here to my site first.

I don’t know if I will completely avoid the regular news online. I admit I’m skeptical. I do think, however, I can practice reducing my exposure to that kind of brain drain.

About J. Parrish Lewis

J. Parrish Lewis writes. He is also the author of The Goblin Road, a fantasy novel, and The Rabbit List. He was born and raised in Maryland. In his youth there, he and his brother had many adventures in the dogwood forests near his home. His nostalgia for these adventures has strongly influenced his characters, their relationships, and their perspective on the world they inhabit. He moved to California’s coast to earn his degree in communications and now lives with his family in the San Joaquin Valley. Lewis is profoundly deaf and uses American Sign Language to communicate. He enjoys hazelnut coffee, captioned movies, and walking his dog.
This entry was posted in sites for a healthy mind and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

