Cough Drops

It is perhaps inevitable, since I have two young children, that my exposure to colds has increased. As I write, it seems some unseen hand is pinching my brain in the center, and I think a poltergeist has moved into my throat. Unpleasant.

In the past, getting a cold means automatically picking up an old comfort: orange juice and ginger ale. I would drink this by the bucket if I could. It’s almost worth getting sick just to drink this fantastic concoction. Half ginger ale, half fresh orange juice (NOT from concentrate, please, and mind you don’t forget to leave the pulp in) is ambrosia to me. It is so good.

Amazingly enough, it is not calorie free. The common cold doesn’t have, inexplicably, the superheroic ability to negate the calories in any way. Thus, I am just guzzling so much sugar I might as well blend that flying brownie I drew the other day into a drink.

Well, since I am working on improving my choices in life, that includes doing so when I’m sick. So, no orange juice and ginger ale. If my life was an emoticon right now, it’d be this: 😦

But in about 40 minutes, my lovely wife and my amazing kids, who I’ve already forgiven for giving me the cold, will walk in the door and then my life will be this: 🙂

In the meantime, I am going to make myself some decaf tea and try to drown that poltergeist.

About J. Parrish Lewis

J. Parrish Lewis writes. He is also the author of The Goblin Road, a fantasy novel, and The Rabbit List. He was born and raised in Maryland. In his youth there, he and his brother had many adventures in the dogwood forests near his home. His nostalgia for these adventures has strongly influenced his characters, their relationships, and their perspective on the world they inhabit. He moved to California’s coast to earn his degree in communications and now lives with his family in the San Joaquin Valley. Lewis is profoundly deaf and uses American Sign Language to communicate. He enjoys hazelnut coffee, captioned movies, and walking his dog.
This entry was posted in change is good, food glorious food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cough Drops

  1. Marty Lewis says:

    You have such a gift of words….I love this blog and think others will too.

  2. Leslie Moore says:

    If you change the ginger ale to just bubbly water, which is sugar free, it cuts way back and tastes great, too. Feel better, Jesse. HI, Marty- what an amazing son you have!

Leave a Reply

