Rising Loaf update

When I started this blog site, I set some goals.

I’ve been writing about a variety of things that I didn’t really expect to write about, but that’s okay. I’ve enjoyed the process.

I still want to make sure I don’t forget why I began this blog, so for that reason I’ll post this little update.

GOAL: I’d like to lose the extra 100 pounds I’m carrying.
HOW’M I DOING? I am not progressing very fast with this at all. A couple of pounds down in the last few weeks, which is better than nothing. If only I could develop the magical power I once dreamed about: the ability to shrink a stomach just by pointing at it. I’d be rich! I will, however, recommit every day.

GOAL: I’d like to practice healthy eating habits.
HOW’M I DOING? Making some headway here, but I could do better. Salad has made a comeback, but salad is saying “Hey, make me the main course!” Meanwhile, cookies have been sneaky. I must be on alert. I didn’t buy any new ones, but we discovered a frozen tube of cookie dough and I am not made of iron, sadly.

GOAL: I’d like to spend more time doing creative tasks.
HOW’M I DOING? Excellently. I am feeling good about this. As you can see from the site, I’ve been posting a lot, doing a lot of little illustrations, and I’m also getting work done on other projects. Score!

GOAL: I’d like to spend less time wandering around on the internet.
HOW’M I DOING? It depends on your perspective. I’m not actually sure I’m spending less, BUT I think I am wandering less. Instead, I’m looking at the net more wisely, mostly starting with sites on my Spaceport, but now also browsing WordPress blogs for inspiring works to read. I have no idea what is going on in the world now, except I heard there was a storm in the East. Sounds like Sauron’s back.

GOAL: I’d like to pursue my passion for writing more consistently so that I can actually get published.
HOW’M I DOING? See above about creativity. I am definitely taking this more seriously, which is why the blog site has expanded its purpose. It’s still about wanting to better myself, but now I’m also hoping to benefit anyone with similar goals. I’m working on a project now that I hope to have available soon for readers.

GOAL: I’d like to develop a stronger spiritual practice.
HOW’M I DOING? I am halfway to the foundation I need for this practice. As I mentioned in my post about The Search for the Holy Grail, we’ve been visiting a Unitarian Universalist Fellowship with this purpose in mind, for the whole family. I need to supplement this with an additional at-home practice, but I have not developed anything consistent yet.

If anyone would like to share personal goals and progress, I’d love to know how it is going.

About J. Parrish Lewis

J. Parrish Lewis writes. He is also the author of The Goblin Road, a fantasy novel, and The Rabbit List. He was born and raised in Maryland. In his youth there, he and his brother had many adventures in the dogwood forests near his home. His nostalgia for these adventures has strongly influenced his characters, their relationships, and their perspective on the world they inhabit. He moved to California’s coast to earn his degree in communications and now lives with his family in the San Joaquin Valley. Lewis is profoundly deaf and uses American Sign Language to communicate. He enjoys hazelnut coffee, captioned movies, and walking his dog.
This entry was posted in change is good, Lamplight and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rising Loaf update

  1. I’ve been using my blog to note goals, pathways & accomplishments as well. I feel that it’ important to take notice of these things, if for no other reason than to check in on your progress. It’s hard to see how far you’ve come if you’re only looking through current peepers.

    Congratulations on the achievements you’ve made so far! Step by step, you know?

    xoxo
    k

Leave a comment